30 Jul, 2020

1. Mouna
Mouna means Silence.

Keep silence from the moment we start the Agnihotra fire and until fire exists.

Some of the immediate benefits of silence are that at least for that time you are not speaking untruth and judging and criticising others. One can introspect oneself and can easily understand that most of the time, what we are talking about is about ourselves- that how good and great we are and judging and criticizing others.

So, at least for that period of time, we will be able to skip these bad habits patterns.

The purpose of silence is to also to bring stillness to mind and body. Silence brings clarity to the mind.

2. Dharana
Dharana means Concentration

Focus on fire until there is a fire in Agnihotra Pyramid.

One can start that by trying to see the different beautiful colours which are created within the flames in your Agnihotra fire.

Try to focus your mind on the fire and concentrate. It will have a relaxing effect on the mind.

In this age of distraction, our mind is constantly moving from one thing to another. Constantly, seeking happiness from one thing to another. There is no rest to the mind. When we learn to concentrate and focus on one thing for a long time, your mind will experience a state of rest and relaxation.

When you start concentrating on one thing, slowly you would realise that you will be able to concentrate on other things too. This will enhance your quality of life. Once you learn to concentrate on anything that you want, you can easily access the great potential within you.

3. Dhyana
Dhyana means Meditation

Try to Meditate as much as you can after the fire extinguishes from Agnihotra Pyramid.

Or start by sitting still and focus on Anahat Chakra (Heart Chakra) or Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra).
Just concentrate on it and do nothing.

Start by meditating on thoughts of love and compassion. Always remember, everything that we are doing is ultimately to be happy. And we will be happy only when we are loving and kind. Agnihotra helps to create a pure atmosphere which enables us to be loving and kind.

Written by:

Sarvajit Paranjpe